Apollo Campers Australia Review – The best and worst of Apollo

review Apollo campers Australia

As the largest privately owned recreational vehicle operator in the Southern Hemisphere, you can rest assured that you are travelling with the best when you choose Apollo for your RV holiday – at least that’s what Apollo claims.

Apollo Campers Everywhere

Next to Britz, you are probably going to see more Apollo vehicles on the road than any other campervan/motorhome rental mob. Currently they have over 4000 vehicles. Which makes playing Marco-(a)pollo an easy game to play. But seriously, this is a large company, with plans to add another 1500 vehicles to the fleet. Whilst they do have smaller campervans – in particular a hi-top Hiace, they tend to be more heading for the motorhome market. Their larger campervan should probably be in their motorhome list, but they seem to have kept in their campervan list. Probably more for balance than any other reason. Their leaning toward motorhomes could also be explained by the fact they own and operate Cheapa Campa and Hippie Campers too, which satisfy the middle and lower priced segments of the market.

Read review of Apollo Campervans competitors

Compare prices for Apollo campers now

Apollo Location Maps

Apollo’s vehicles are manufactured in their own factory in Brisbane, giving them an edge over all those who just have to retro-fit a standard vehicle, and also meaning that they have great service-ability. That means greater piece of mind for you, the renter, knowing that they will be able to get parts based in Australia. Those companies using imported motorhomes don’t have that luxury.

You definitely want to give Apollo a look in to if you are traveling with 3 or more. Their motorhome range is squarely aimed at family groups and as such they have all the little luxuries that you hope to have as a family traveling together.

Apollo campervan hireThey also have a competitor in the 4WD market that is different from most the others. They are NOT using the Toyota Landcruiser troop-carrier as a base model, rather the Toyota Hilux 4×4. This is the kind of vehicle that has a flat-bed rear and Apollo have put a separate shell on it for the living space. Advantage: lots more living space than any other 4WD, making this vehicle a the Taj Mahal of 4WDs. Disadvantages: You have to get out of the vehicle to get in to the back, it is HEAVY and it has pretty lame mileage. Combine this with only having 117 ltrs across 2 tanks and you will be filling up on diesel a lot (Troop carriers tend to have 180 ltrs). Also, it has less ground clearance, so you will bottom out sooner if on those really rocky or rutted dirt roads. This can also be a bummer on soft sand. Put it this way, if you are planning on staying on sealed roads, simple unsealed roads or hard sand when going outback, then this luxury liner is the way to go. If you are going hard core, then get a troop carrier from someone else.

Overall it’s hard to fault Apollo. They tend to have a vehicle to suit most desires and have a reputation of being clean and having good service. But like all the other major players, they are aiming at the traveller who values quality and cleanliness over budget constraints, so prices are not the lowest.

Pros:

Huge company with massive fleet.

A quality company

Plenty of depot locations

Cons:

Can book out in peak periods due to popularity.

Mid to high price range

People complain about how long it takes to get deposit back.

SUMMARY: This is a benchmark company that the others measure themselves against. You will almost certainly find a vehicle style to suit you but they book out quick in high season because of their popularity

By Tim Ahern

Book Now

Comments

  1. Admin says:

    Recently this site was updated and separated from the eCampervanHire.com site. Due to tech issues the comments were manually moved. In order to leave them available to everyone they have been copied and pasted by ADMIN.

  2. Admin says:

    “ apollo camper credit card bond question? ”
    Jun 01, 2009, 8:31 PM
    I have rented cars before overseas and stayed in hotels and done bond by credit card with no charges but apollo campervans have got me worried with their fine print:

    Bond amounts are:

    * $2700 : if you don’t purchase Excess Reduction. (Debited)

    * $1200 : if you purchase Excess Reduction Option 1 at $16 per day, paid to Apollo direct. (Pre-authorisation)

    * $250 : if you purchase Excess Reduction Option 2 at $26 per day, paid to Apollo direct. (Imprint)

    I have my own travel insurance so don’t want to double up, but from what i see they want to debit my card for bond which means i will get fees for currency conversion both ways (paying bond and getting back). Let alone what the exchange rate will do (and at the moment I couldn’t see it moving in my favour).

    I also noted in the rental contract this

    “Payment of this Bond is only accepted by credit card. The bond will be debited to the credit card account immediately. An administration fee equal to the merchant surcharge applies.”

    so if i get this right they are also going to charge merchant fees on my bond which i am guessing would be around 3%. So on $2700 it is $81 Aus or over $100 NZ. Add that with my currency conversion fees and i could be out well over $300 in bond costs for a $250 rental.

    From the looks of it i might have to pay the $16 a day so i can get the pre-authorisation bond so it works out cheaper. Even though i got full rental excess insurance up to $5000nz.

    Anyone had any experience or thoughts on the matter please share.

  3. Admin says:

    Cheapa Campa / Apollo

    We rented a 6-berth motorhome from Apollo in Perth for 3 week vacation in northern WA. Our plan to was to drive north and visit Kalbarri, Monkey Mia, Ningaloo Reef, and Tom Price. On the 4th day out our vehicle stalled on the highway and glowplug warning light came on. We pulled over, was able to get engine started again but engine would stall again each time it got back up to highway speed. called the Apollo service number from a roadhouse, was told that since it was after 5, there was nothing that could be done. The following day, limped into Exmouth and called the serivce number again- this time directed to a repair shop mechanic who detected a fault with the diesel fuel injector system but since there is no Ford repair shop in Exmouth, I should just limp 1200 km back to Perth for service. decided to cut our trip short and drive back to Perth. The condition of our vehicle persistently got worse (Had to drive under 80-90 kph with frequent stalling- very dangerous and unnerving especially around other vehicles.) finally limped back into Perth and spent the day taking the vehicle to repair shops to confirm diesel engine was stuffed. Apollo service informed us that replacement RVs were unavailable, but they could graciously provide us with a Toyota Camry to continue our trip. I had to refuse this generous offer since we could not possibly fit our group of 5 adults (and gear) into such a nice car. Since RV could not be drive far from town, we have spent the last week of our vacation in a caravan park in Perth. Overall enjoyed our visit to WA, but be forwarned: do not expect any ‘service’ from Apollo once your vehicle is on the road.
    Reviewed by: R. Vilgalys Date: June 07, 2009

  4. Admin says:

    Re: apollo camper credit card bond question?
    Jul 02, 2009, 5:38 AM
    Sorry for my english :-)

    Same thing arrived to me in Australia.

    But in fact the contract in Melbourn agency proposed 3 contracts :

    1/ without purchase excess reduction : 7500AD c(debited)

    2/ a second one of 2500AD (debited)

    3/ and a 26AD per day with the purchase of Excess Reduction.

    I got a lot of problems with Apollo. The service is awful.

    In Alice Springs I had a problem with battery, the people there never accepted to call the Apollo center for me (I don’t know why). I had to ask a long time they accept to check a mechanical problem.

    In Darwin it was the worst I almost missed my flight because of their unwillingness.

    I think there is a big problem at the moment between the Apollo agencies and their management.

    For non fluent english speaking travellers it is really a big problem.

  5. Admin says:

    Re: apollo camper credit card bond question?
    Jul 02, 2009, 9:13 AM
    Hi Xcell,

    Taking the bond out of your account does seem a little over the top. So they basically have your money, can invest it for the period of your rental, earn the interest before they hand it back & charge you for the priveledge.

    It may be worthwhile looking at dealing with a different company.

    RP

  6. Admin says:

    Re: apollo camper credit card bond question?
    Jul 15, 2009, 8:33 AM
    Plus when you do get your bond back, they dont adjust your credit card immediately like when they take the money out, it takes a further 3-4 business days before you finally receive it.

  7. Admin says:

    We hired an Apollo RV24′ in LA .As previous people(and us) found out, the hard way, the Apollo team has their own rules on bond.We paid $US1000 bond + $US 20.- “Bond service fee”? If you are Australian, they have their own exchange rate ( not linked to the official rate , about 5% lower)It cost us $ 70 extra . Bond was taken out the same day, return of bond took 5 days.Beware of their comprehencive 100% insurance.it does not cover demage to the lower part of vehicle or roof of the RV.
    We brought the RV back late. Instead of 4 PM we brought it back the next morning 9.30 AM and they tried to “slugg” us for two more days.We only found this out, when we got home , that they helped semself to our credit card at 2X $ 133.00 .Nothing was mentioned at the checking out.
    Rental day equals calender day, so you could pay 2 extra days ! Allow for at least 3 hours for pick up and 3 hours to return.
    The RV we had, was very good ,17.000 miles on the clock, nearly new.Everything was in good working order. The double bed was too soft for us ,it sunk in in the middle (hammock like).The 10 cylinder engine was thirsty. We got 9 miles/galon at the best.

  8. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2011/10/06 at 11:34 pm
    Just finished our trip through Australia with Apollo’s Euro Star. Very good vehicle, good service and no problems with the bond whatsoever. The all inclusive insurance does cover the damage to the lower part of vehicle or roof of the RV. It’s slight more expensive but we took the safe way and be sure we were covered.

  9. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2011/10/26 at 11:54 pm
    I rented the Apollo 6 Berth and I found it very good and reliable. The vehicle was clean and tidy and also well equipped with no missings or broken things.

  10. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2011/11/14 at 12:29 am
    The motorhome was well maintained, as I couldn’t find no broken things and was also very good cleaned. Everything was privided what you might need during your camping trip and worked very good. To change the living room into a bed is a very straight forward proces and wasn’t hard to do at all. I can only recommended this company to you as we had a very good experience with them.

  11. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/03/18 at 5:08 pm
    Hired a motorhome for a trip from Cairns to Brisbane in February. Found that the interior of the van particularly the toilet/shower cubicle was dirty, stains on mattress and seat covers and dirty water? in toilet cubicle. On the fourth day in Mareeba stopped at a tourist info point and the vehicle wouldn’t restart. Called the breakdown line who sent a RACQ unit out to us who arrived in about half an hour. He advised us to take it to a VW dealer, as it appeared that it was overdue on servicing.Called breakdown line again to advise them of what the RACQ advised. Stated they would call us back but after half an hour they hadn’t. Took the vehicle back to Cairns about one and half hours away, were told by staff there that we shouldn’t have brought it back. Asked for a replacement from vehicles in garage, told this wasn’t policy. Following a number of calls to breakdown line and Fleet Manager both of little help, agreed to take vehicle to VW agent in Cairns. Told an appointment had been made and that the garage would look at the van as soon as we got there. When leaving found the van would not engage gear (automatic box) staff had to turn the ignition off and then on again to engage gear. On arrival garage agreed that Apollo had called but there was no arrangement for immediate service. Fortunately the Service Manager fitted us in after further calls to the breakdown line. Garage identified the possible problem as inconsistency between ignition key and engine management module. A day lost of our holiday and not even a courtesy call later in the hiring. Apollo did agree a modicum of compensation once we had returned home, apologised and promised to look at their customer service policy.

  12. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/05/19 at 9:32 am
    Yes – beware the layers upon layers of insurance cover charges from Apollo.

    We rented a 4WD campervan from Apollo recently, in Australia. We paid A$2100 up front for the rental, and were appalled to find (when we picked up the van) that in order to receive any sensible degree of cover for accidental damage to the van, we’d have to pay another $1900..

    The Apollo team were unrepentant and aggressive, despite clear inconsistency between their demands and what we had earlier been told by their agent. Worse, their own terms & conditions appeared to state that even where the further cover was purchased, it would be of no value (ie we would nonetheless be liable) in the event that we had been negligent.. C’mon, guys – the reason that you buy cover is so that you have protection in the event of an accident for which you may be partly to blame!

    But Apollo have you over a barrel, since if you don’t pay up the huge cost of the further cover, they demand a bond (on your credit card) of $7500. Not many of us can happily put a $7500 bond payment through on the credit card. So, of course, we had no option but to pay the further A$1900, bringing our hire cost up to A$4000 before we’d even turned the key in the ignition.

    I will never book with Apollo again.

  13. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/05/23 at 3:51 am
    We rented a 4D camper van for a month in January 2012 from Apollo in Melbourne. The camper van was just perfect for our purposes -an extended trip to the Outback. The cooking facilities were great, and A/C unit was an added bonus. Although the fridge broke down, but since that happened a day before returning the car we did not mind too much.

    The problems started after returning the camper van. The return itself went smoothly since I had taken photos of the van from every possible angle before we took off, so we could show every single scratch had been there before us. 2 weeks after returning the van we got an email from Apollo, at middle of Feb, stating that there’s a traffic infringement and Apollo will charge 100 dollar admin fee for that, which they will refund provided we prove the infringement is not valid. My credit card was promptly charged by Apollo.

    After a lot of hassle with Eastlink, (toll operator in Melbourne) we got email from them confirming that the infringement was groundless indeed since we had had a valid Melbourne Pass on the alleged day of the traffic infringement. That done, I forwarded the confirmation to Apollo and expected to have the refund swiftly paid, given that I had already had to spent hours of my holiday sorting out a mess that was not even our fault. On 28 of March 2012 Apollo replied that they have refunded me but it might take up to 14 days to see the transaction through.

    After 6 weeks I contacted Apollo once again, as I still had not been refunded by them. First they did not bother to reply, and only after I had contacted ACCC, I got reply from Apollo saying that my refund had not been processed due to somebody’s annual leave, basically confirming that email I had received on 28th of March was a blatant lie.

    I wanted to share this experience so you will be aware what to expect from them. My wife and I had to spent hours of our honeymoon to sort out a frustrating mess that had nothing to do with us. If you want to have good customer service, do not choose Apollo/Cheapa Campa.

  14. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/07/12 at 12:06 pm
    Dont expect your bond back in any rush??
    After collecting a camper from darwin on the 1st of june and dropping off on the 17th june in broome I’m still waiting for my bond to be refunded on the 13th July. Ok you have had your fun with it, earnt interest on it and promised me it within 5-7 days of drop off..where is it?? I feel like calling this kind of action theft! I had a great time, and have extoled the virtues of your company to many travelers on the road…Now i’m just pissed off with your slack attitude to my rights. I wonder if i can start to charge you interest on my own money?seen as you have breched your so called 14day repayment period..where does it state this in the contract?? as i’m at a loss to find it. Next step ACCC and alot of my spare time letting others know of this con.

  15. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/07/22 at 9:19 pm
    we had a terrable time with apollo concerning the bond and insurance. their tactics are compleatly unethical and probley illigal. we rented a moterhome posting a $7500 bond, in the end it looks like i.m out $700u.s. when asked to have this explained by the company, while on the phone trying to get my bond returned, they could give me no answers. the womon tryed to refer me to reservations. they did take my name and phone # and said someone would call me concerning my questions. nothing yet. this practice neads to be stoped, and i think a class action law suit is in order.

  16. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/07/30 at 11:47 pm
    Hi Mary and Tim,
    My name is Melanie and I am the Marketing Coordinator for Apollo. I would like to follow up your bond refunds for you as these are something that we do endeavour to return asap. I can appreciate that this is a large sum of money. Are you both able to advise me of your reservation numbers and I would be happy to look into this for you.

    Kind regards
    Melanie

  17. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/08/08 at 2:46 pm
    1.Company wouldnt honor their insurance cover, I am having to fight the case through the courts.
    2.The whole Apollo group apply excessive fees and charges which are not advertised and are compulsory.
    3.The van was very old and in poor condition/unclean.

    My advice is to go elsewhere, even at the budget end there are much better alternatives. Jucy Rentals is an excellent one that I have used before.

  18. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/08/09 at 5:41 am
    Hi Ben,
    My name is Melanie and I am the Marketing Coordinator for Apollo. I would like to look into your feedback further if you can email us directly on marketing@apollocamper.com. In regards to your claim- i can’t comment on this as it will be going through out fleet department however in regards to the fees that you mention are not advetised – we have no hidden fees, all fees are written in our terms and conditions which are available online and which you must agree to before confirming a rental. Apollo vehicles are 0-3years old and well maintained so I am surprised to hear your feedback on having an “old” vehicle. If you would like contact me please do so and I can inform our customer services department of your feedback.
    Kind regards
    Melanie

  19. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/08/09 at 1:22 pm
    Melanie, I have already engaged in lengthy contact with your ‘customer services’ department, unfortunately they don’t seem to be able to investigate anything and will just relay what your internal systems tell them to. Hence me having to go forward and get an impartial judge to review the case.

    Yes you are correct that the additional fees are written within your small print, and I did see them before I booked with yourselves. However this is far from being transparent and clear to your customers and the majority of people would not notice these additional costs. And although a number of firms within your industry use the same tactics to confuse customers, I have found your company to be by far the worse offender. Why do you feel the need to mislead customers instead of displaying the full cost of your rentals, all this does is stifle competition by preventing accurate comparison between different companies.

    I have found your company to be very misleading, devious and cunning. Out to extract as much from their customers as possible, whether its legal or not. Your response to my review, giving yourself a 5* rating says it all really.

  20. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/09/27 at 11:37 am
    Had the worse experience with Apollo while on holiday in NZ. The 6 beth camper started breaking up, lost a day sight seeing to try and have the camper fix as advised by told Apollo with the result being ” can’t do anything about it, we will cancel the rest of your contract and reimburse your remaining days”. Lucky for Pacific Horizon Camper vans we could continue our holiday. Never again will Apollo be used and I will make sure that I’ll let other people know of our experience.

  21. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/10/30 at 5:50 am
    Hi Jasmine.
    Melanie from the Apollo Marketing Team here.
    After reading your comment I would firstly like to apologize for the fact that your experience with Apollo did not meet our standards of what we strive to deliver. I would like to follow up the circumstances that led to the termination of your contract with our fleet department. If you could please email me your reference number and the name that your booking number was saved under I will investigate this further. My email is marketing@apollocamper.com. I hope to hear from you soon Jasmine.
    Kind regards
    Melanie – Apollo Marketing Coordinator

  22. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/11/15 at 10:38 am
    Never again ! Stay away from them !!

    When we rented it ( deluxe motorhome), it took us more than 2 hours ! The last thing they make you check is inside and I can tell you that you don’t check well ( my mistake) but after 2 hours you just want to start your vacation !

    Everything was so dirty, floor greasy make it hard to drive…. Dishes dirty, spent 1h to clean everything and didn’t use everything bc impossible to clean properly ! Windows discusting, could not see through it. There was one blinder, you could find everything you want on it from food to dust to dead insects !!

    Sheets with stains.

    You can rent chairs and table. Don’t bother as the chairs are almost all broken and the table is nice if you are a 8 years old and want to play dolls !!

    First night we had been woke up at 2am by a terrible odor of rottens eggs that burn all your airways. We couldn’t sleep inside !! It was in fact the batterie that was too old and was leeking ! So spent the first morning at the garage to get it changed. We breathed sulfuric acid for couple of hours !! Nice with kids and being pregnant !! It took severals days for the odor to disappear completely !! The guy from the garage told us he never saw a batterie like this and that Apollo should had changed it a long long time ago ! When I called Apollo first time in a morning the guy was telling me that it was probably his staff who forgot to empty the waste water… !!! Waste water don’t burn your eyes neither your throat !!

    Impossible to sleep well at night as the cushions are not the “original” and they don’t fit well together to make the bed !!

    It was not my first vacation in motorhome but the first time with apollo but clearly will be the last one with them !!

  23. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2012/11/21 at 6:28 am
    Although we enjoyed our holiday with Apollo and our Van was clean, only a year old and comfortable to drive and live in, however I can sense I may have the same problem in regards to my money being refunded!

    When we dropped off the camper, it was checked out and given the all clear! I was then told my money would be in moy account by monday the 19th of November its now the 21st and still nothing! Although its early days I think my situation may become the same as the many who have commented above!

    After sending a couple of emails regarding this matter I have had no response and feel as if Apollo are witholding my money for some unstated reason! I am afraid if this continues I will be taking legal action! It is theft plain and simple.

    As I already commented I had no problems with the van or the actual holiday itself, but because of my money not being returned when stated, I would not recommend Apollo to anyone !

  24. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/05/06 at 9:48 pm
    Stay away is my advice. After booking through Apollo we were surprised to be picking up our car from a hertz. Then hertz stung us for everything at Hertz rates not apollo…… rang Apollo and they said if you didn’t agree to the Hertz rate why did you pay?….. because i needed a hire car or ruin my holiday. Terrible attitude at the apollo and having Hertz look after some of their rentals really doesn’t work! We would not recommend Apollo to anyone!

  25. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/05/09 at 8:26 am | In reply to Evan.
    Although we had a good time with our campervan from Apollo in NSW and Tasmania in March 2013, we have a very bad experience with getting refunds back for the bond and for a toll infringement that was no infringement. On the 16th of April we got an email back from the Traffic Fines department of Apollo advising us that we would get a refund within 1-14 days. Any emails to this department for an update on this refund results in no reply. We also still have not received a refund for a bond for our hire in Tasmania that ended on the 4th of April. Emails and phone calls to Apollo have given us no results.

  26. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/05/15 at 9:24 am
    Steer well clear of this company. They will hit you with all sorts of charges- watch out for their insurance policy and good luck getting your bond repaid quickly. Expect no response until you go to your credit card company to chase it up.

  27. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/05/17 at 9:48 pm
    Warning: Insufficient Insurance with Apollo Motorhomes

    A short summary of what we learnt after hiring a rental campervan with Apollo in Australia and unfortunately had an accident:

    Apollo won’t cover for any accidents they deem your fault.
    For example: you stop at a stop sign, look left and right but fail to spot an oncoming car and consequently cause an accident. This scenario is amongst the most common accident scenarios – nearly 25% of all accidents happen due to someone accidentally failing to give the right of way. It’s due to these kind of accidents that can end up being very costly you’ll want an insurance in the first place. But Apollo Camper will not cover it in any of their insurance packages.

    Instead, after such an accident, you’ll receive the following mail quoting parts of their contract:

    ———-

    (…)
    Due to the nature of this accident you are in breach of the following terms and conditions:
    4. Unauthorised and Prohibited Use of Vehicle
    (g) Using the Vehicle in a dangerous (…) manner.
    (h) Using the Vehicle in contravention of any legislation or regulation controlling vehicular traffic.
    (…)

    5. Financial Obligations
    (…) You will pay Apollo, on demand, any balance with the following charges:
    (c) All loss of or damage to the Vehicle, (including the loss of use of that Vehicle – ‘demurrage’), legal expenses, assessment fees, towing and recovery costs, third party damage, storage and other charges rendered by Apollo’s where:
    (xi) You have been deemed negligent in any action thereby resulting in damage to the Vehicle or third party property
    (…)

    ———-

    And no matter which of their additional insurance packages you’ve booked (including any ‘zero-liability’ one) they will argue with the above mentioned terms and void any insurance.

    I know it sounds hard to believe, but just check their contract or even better ask Apollo (in writing, to make sure you’ve got legal proof) about the mentioned circumstances.

    In short: Don’t book with Apollo Campers. And get get written proof that the rental company you choose has an insurance that covers all things you need to have covered.

  28. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/05/23 at 12:26 pm | In reply to A. H..
    This is very interesting reading. I will send this to Apollo and see what they have to say for themselves.
    Tim

  29. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/06/03 at 11:09 am | In reply to Tim.
    Thanks Tim for contacting Apollo Motorhomes any allowing us the opportunity to post in response to your enquiry. Your enquiry is valid and one that we are always happy to discuss to ensure our guests are aware.

    I have read through A.H statement regarding liability cover. To make a few notes. Apollo does not offer insurance like you have in a normal car. I can understand with normal car insurance the example of failing to give way at a give way sign and causing an accident would be covered as it is classed as an accident, irrespective of the traffic violation committed – with RV hire and the liability options we offer this would be seen as a breach of contract as per the eg’s A.H have given.

    Not to go into too much detail over every term- these are listed and our guests are asked to make sure they are aware of what is and is not covered under our liability options. We always recommend that private travel insurance is taken out to cover in those instances where our liability cover does not.

    Overall to answer the question Apollo is not an insurance provider and we do state this in our rental agreement: (h) You acknowledge that Apollo has not in any way represented itself to You as an entity carrying on the business of insurance, and nor has Apollo made any recommendations to You, or given You any opinion or guidance in relation to any insurance product. In most cases this is Industry Standard as are the terms and conditions which our guests are requested to sign.

    Unfortunately once a financial obligation applies due to the exclusions in the terms and conditions the guests are liable for that associated cost.
    I hope this helps and we are always happy to discuss these matters in detail with any of our guests – info@apollocamper.com

  30. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/06/05 at 9:25 am | In reply to Admin.
    You are right The bond system is a ripe off
    It is a great CON. Some smart accountant come up with this
    They are taking and using your money from day 1 but it takes 3 weeks to refund your bond on return.
    If you had the van for 3 weeks the cost will be on your credit card for 6 wks which means you will also pay interest payments if you do not pay the amount on monthly account
    I had a large motorhome which was ill prepared when I received it (another story)and I paid a $7500 bond and they charged me $150 admin fee as well to put through a credit which takes two minutes.
    The vans may be cheap on the surface but they are milking you of money in other ways.
    The staff at apollo are the least proffesional customer service sales team I have ever meet.

  31. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/06/09 at 7:12 pm | In reply to Jesse.
    … we have a very similar experience. They booked 76 AUD from our credit card, and we never received an invoice. Only upon enquiry, said it was for a toll infringement in Melbourne. However, it was not an infringement, we had paid the toll. Any mails and calls no reply… and yesterday we even received 141 AUD fee…. so Apollo seems not to have passed on the money! It really spoils our holiday to be fined for something that was not our fault, but some error in the toll system, and then even be ripped off by Apollo… we will have to seek legal support here. Sad.

  32. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/06/17 at 5:04 pm
    If you are short on money…don’t hire a Hippie Camper (even it seems cheap), which is part of Apollo company!
    I gave back the rental camper 2 months ago and still did not receive the refund of my bond… several emails back and forth with them where they apologise since 3 weeks. What is so difficult in refunding a bond which is MY money. Are close to be bankrupt?

  33. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2013/09/12 at 3:05 am
    I,m going to explain my “wonderful” experience with this “wonderful” enterprise:

    First of all, the deposit for the campervan is not just a deposit, but also a TRANSACTION, so, your money disappears from your credit card and you also pay the comission! (54 $ more).

    We rented a camper with them in Alice Springs, the windscreen had some stone chips, but it,s usual, it was not the first time we rented a car with stone chips. But the screen broke while we were travelling to Cairns, and when we arrived to the office, they wanted us to pay the windscreen. We tried to say them all the time the windscreen was broken in Alice, and they never wanted to listen, never wanted to solve it, they had or money and they thought they could do what the wanted to. After that they began to shout us.. but the worst came later when they threw our luggage to the road and push us like if we were dogs.

    Next day we leaved Cairns and went to New Zealand. In this country, Apollo sent us a mail saying we had to pay 550 $ for the windscreen… and also 272,5 $ for the demurrage!! I asked them what demurrage, and they said that it was so and besides they were very good because they could have made me pay even more!!!!! And of course, my claim was closed and that was all. As you can see, they are very reasonable people.

    Even though, they had to refund us a lot of money from the deposit (more than 2.000 $!), they always said they refund it between 2 and 3 weeks from the drop off.. but we wait one and another day.. and the money didn,t return to us. We couldn,t really enjoy in NZ because we were really afraid, it was a lot of money.

    So we arrived home, and I sent a mail to our consul, who said me to contact the Fair Trading Office in Brisbane. I did so and they helped me to recover our deposit (two months later!!, this is not a demurrage??), but not the money for the windscreen and for the “demurrage”. I suppose I will never recover it, but if I help some people not to ruin their holidays, I would be really very happy.

    Don,t be imprudent, DO NOT RENT WITH APOLLO CAMPER!

    And if you have had a problem with them, contact the Fair Trading Office (is possible by mail), they will help you and also is good for them to know this sort of cases.

  34. Admin says:

    Submitted on 2014/04/09 at 2:55 pm
    I would never use apollo again. Took us four vans in one week to get one close to right. Leaking toilets on the first two and no hot water on number three. If you take out the basic insurance they take $5000 of your credit card as bond. Then takes 15 business days to get it back at the end of the hire. Plus they tried to send me a fine for using citilink when I had a day pass. …Plus a $75 administration fee. Talk a rip off.

    While their customer service team was great and very helpful the maintenance team are pathetic and the people who set the rates and fees are close enough being criminal.

  35. pete says:

    1.We had the Adblu dash warning light come on at night whilst on the way to Kakadu. We had to turn around and drive back. The next morning at the Darwin depot the mechanics had no idea where to fill the adblu, took them about ½ hr to find it, then needed 2 trips to shop to get more adblu as it took about 35-40litres!, so obviously this has rarely been checked.
    2.The T.V. poured out toxic smoke after 2 days!, this could have happened while we were asleep poisoning us!, So we had no T.V. for the holiday (hard with kids), TV had sound troubles to start with as well.
    3.The table kept falling on kids !, even while driving on flat highway.
    4.Front driver side tyre was bulging flat. There is no sticker or in detail in manual saying tyre pressures.
    5.There is no indication for bonnet release being on passenger side, it could be dangerous in an emergency not being able to find it.
    6.Stove very hard to light, must have blocked jets or gas line or faulty regulator
    7.Water heater faulty, kept going to fault mode….Also no sticker to say it takes 20mins to heat up , as you would expect a instantaneous water heater
    8.Shower recess blocked
    9.Air con made us sick
    10.cupboard door lock broke that had been glued previously- should have been replaced with a new lock from the start
    11.ripped cushion, foam hanging out – first thing you saw when you stepped inside motorhome
    12.Stereo needs a switch or fader for back speakers
    13.I emailed Darwin branch a week or so before our holiday asking simple questions about stereo and power outlets. I got no reply . I rang a week later and was given wrong information anyway – obviously staff didn’t even check properly for me.
    14. 3 weeks after finishing holiday to get deposit & refund back , plus charging 2% credit charge for $7500 deposit!
    15. Rude female manager at Darwin did care at all about our troubles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

Copyright 2014